My Top Chef Moment: Angelo Sosa’s “Bibimbap Burger” is approved by South Korean Mothers

My Korean mother, whom I typically refer to as “Mama Cho” on the interweb disapproves of my summer “food blogging nonsense.” Spending time, taking pictures of food, let alone wasting my valuable time writing about restaurants? It’s probably the last item on her “things I should force my Asian son into doing before I die” list.
Fortunately, Top Chef Angelo has gotten my “high expectations” Asian mother off my back for a couple more weeks with his enchanting creation, the Social Eatz: BIBIMBAP BURGER.

Oh my lawd, the Top Chef has managed to assimilate Korean and American cuisine without offending the motherland!

Angelo’s hybrid burger-baby:

  • Sesame Roll
  • Iceberg Lettuce
  • Beef (70Chuck/30Brisket)
  • Gochujang (hot pepper paste)
  • Bean Sprouts
  • Carrots
  • Poached Egg
  • & A glorifying dosage of Sriracha Sauce

The Bibimbap burger, surprisingly, pays homage to tradition while introducing picky American eaters to Korean food. It was also voted “Best Burger in America,” earning it lots of street cred in the Asian community. This invention might even have Korean mothers pulling their kids out of SAT prep class and enrolling them in culinary school.

My favorite part about this eatery? Social Eatz is bringing Korean cuisine into the American mainstream media without including the words “Wok, Express, and the Great Wall” in their menu selection. Bless them.

Leave a Reply

