The Insatiable Palate Review #5: Tacos Morelos (New York, New York)

The best tongue I’ve ever had inside a truck.

A couple weeks ago, my friend Jon and I actually thought about walking 25 minutes to get to Tacos Morelos in Alphabet City. Luckily, the food truck gods decided to relocate this sucker to the East Village.
At that point, I’d given up on this Freshmen 15 Pounds of Muscle bullshit. It takes about the same amount of time to get to Tacos Morelos as it takes to get to the NYU gym SO THE GYM IS NOT AN OPTION.

Originality:  No more traveling down to Brooklyn for authentic Mexican food! The halal carts are great, but TM definitely brings a change of pace after a late-night buzz. Al pastor (Roasted Pork) and lengua (major tongue action here). WHY does Chipotle even exist?

So much love in two hands

Portion/Price: Finally, a place where I can feel full without eating Dining Hall food for the rest of the week!
Taco for $2.50 (three will do you good – four during munchies hours)
One tortas Sandwich (bistec, torta del casar, the works) fills you up for $6. The burrito is equivalent to a brick. For only $7.50? Glorious.

Personal Experience: When Asian kids get sick, parents feed them porridge. I still eat tortas to save my life. Still alive, still love tortas.

Marry me, Bistec

One response to “The Insatiable Palate Review #5: Tacos Morelos (New York, New York)

  1. Oooooooh, I’ve always been scared of those trucks. Now I’m definitely going to have to check them out. Thanks man!

Leave a Reply

